Dire Straits

  • UK based band, formed in 1977 by Mark Knopfler (vocals and guitar), David Knopfler (vocals and guitar), John Illsley (vocals and bass), and Pick Withers (drums/percussion).
  • Produced 6 studio albums from 1978 to 1991.
  • Their first album, Dire Straits, included Sultans of Swing, which peaked at #4 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.
  • Their fifth studio album was their mega success – Brothers in Arms, released in 1985. The song Money for Nothing was the perfect fit for MTV, which was reaching the peak of its popularity for music videos. It was chosen Video of the Year in 1986. Sting is given “special thanks” on the album, but only because Money for Nothing includes the melody of The Police’s Don’t Stand So Close To Me as a small snipet of the song.


  • The band split up in 1988, then reformed in 1991. One album was released in 1991, and the band ended for good in 1995. Mark Knopfler and John Illsley were the only members to be part of the band for its entire run.
  • Dire Straits was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 2018.
  • Knopfler is now a septuagenarian, and is still active. He has released 10 solo albums, and has produced soundtracks for 11 movies. Rolling Stone ranked him 27th greatest guitarist of all time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *